Print Page

Fascinating Frogs at Deep Creek

Deep Creek Education Centre
Full Day
Book Program
Year Levels



Frogs belong to the group of animals called amphibians. They are unique in their ability to live on both land and in water, and to metamorphose during their life cycle. Frogs can breathe through their moist skin and through their lungs. Australia has a fascinating and spectacular variety of frogs, over 210 of the world’s ~5,000 species. 
There are now 36 species of frog known to occur in Victoria, with many populations in decline. There are 14 species which are classified as endangered, or critically endangered including the Growling Grass Frog, which was once common around parts of Melbourne. There are many reasons for the decline in numbers including habitat loss, introduced species, pollution and diseases. 

Key Learning Question

How do we identify frogs and what do they need to survive?

Learning Intentions

By the end of this program, student’s will be able to:
  • Identify the stages of the frog lifecycle, and the habitat requirements of each stage.
  • Identify macroinvertebrates from a wetland sample. 
  • Distinguish between frog calls to identify a range of frog species.
  • Evaluate the quality of a wetland as a habitat for frogs.


Students will:

  • Learn about the frog lifecycle, and create their own frog life cycle cards.
  • Search for and identify macroinvertebrates
  • Listen to frog calls and identify different frog species
  • Undertake a habitat assessment of the Deep Creek Reserve.

Victorian Curriculum

  • Living things can be grouped on the basis of observable features and can be distinguished from non-living things (VCSSU057)
  • Different living things have different life cycles and depend on each other and the environment to survive (VCSSU058)